Friday’s Favorite Things………… Chocolate Chip Cookies.

The world was a little quieter this morning with the fall of some really gorgeous snow. I thought with a new iPhone and having 3 weather apps I would be prepared for such a occurance, but of course I woke up to a beautiful surprise. I think life is better off with the surprises anyway…

The view from my desk.

I love the snow, but the business I am in does not share in that sentiment withme. When snow falls the world stops, therefore our customer base tends to stay away. Hey, I don’t blame them in some sense; what’s better than sweatpants, a warm drink, and spending time in a cozy house (after you shovel of course)? Very little. That’s what makes winter so magical.

I digress from all of the snow chit-chat, but like snow is one of my favorite things, it is time to dedicate Fridays to my absolute favorite foodie things! This Friday’s post is dedicated something as simply beautiful as snow, Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Don’t be confused when I say with this recipe, “the proof is in the pudding”. Oopsies………… Secret ingredient, revealed.

One of my greatest challenges in pulling together the right recipe was to figure out what the proper balance of ingredients were to create a not flat, not overly sweet, not overly buttery, not overly bland, not overly blah, not overdone cookie. People love butter, but too much butter not only makes the cookies flat but also overwhelming; I don’t want my consumers to eat two and feel sick. To keep each cookie dense you could use a little extra flour, but it most cases overdoing that can mask flavor.  The day I discovered my secret ingredient, whether you choose the Vanilla box, or the French Vanilla box, or the Sugar Free version, not only tied up my recipe, but put a big red bow a top it! The gelatin binds the cookie just that little bit that it needs, the extra sweetness from the sugar swirls in perfectly, and the hint of vanilla all mixed in…… Simply Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies. No more searching…

GREAT way to gift your cookies to someone! Image from culinary.net

 So since the secret is out, the recipe has to be too!

Aly’s Award Winning Chocolate Chip Cookies

The recipe makes between 60-65 cookies.

Take out butter. Preheat oven to 350.

Prepare baking sheets with parchment paper.

  • 4 1/2 cups all-purpose unbleached flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 cups butter at room temperature
  • 1 3/4 cups brown sugar
  • 3/4 cups evaporated cane sugar
  • 2 boxes of instant pudding mix (vanilla or french vanilla)
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • A LOT of chocolate chips/chunks/minis (semisweet)

1. Pull out a large bowl, or I prefer to use my Kitchen Aid mixer, and cream the butter and both sugar together till well mixed and fluffy.

2. Meanwhile sift together the flour and the baking soda in another small bowl. If you want a cake-like cookie, you can always substitute cake flour for the all-purpose. OR to up the health factor, use whole wheat pastry flour

3. To the creamed butter and sugar add both packets of pudding mix. I like to do one Vanilla and one French Vanilla.

4. Crack each egg into that mix one at a time, followed by the vanilla. I encourage you to not be exact when adding the vanilla. The more the merrier!

5. On low speed, slowly introduce and blend fully the flour mixture. Less is more here…. Don’t over mix. 

6. Remove the bowl from the mixer, and grab a spatula to fold in your desired amount of chips…. or chunks. If you’re a chocolate lover, go with the chunks!

6. Using an ice cream scoop, spoon, or your hands, take the dollops of the cookie dough and place them on the parchment paper about an inch or two inches apart depending on size of the scoop.

These will bake for 10-11 minutes in total. Each oven is different so monitor them.. I like to swap the sheets at around 5 minutes so the golden brown color gets to show itself on each cookies edges! Let cool for a couple of minutes before removing the cookies from the sheet onto a cooling rack.

Why is this recipe one of my favorite things? First of all it’s a chocolate chip cookie, and I promise when you taste it, it will become one of your favorite things too… But I have been able to use this recipe as a base for so many other delicious baked goodies.

Instead of using chocolate chips you can blend in:

*M+Ms*

*Candy Bar pieces*

*Broken up Reese Cups*

*Peanut Butter and Chocolate Chips*

*White chocolate chips and pretzels*

Or you could use the recipe to make:

*Monster Cookies*

*Cookie Brownies*

*Chocolate Chip Pie*

Recipes for each to be featured in the “Recipes” section.

Take this recipe and make it one of your weekend to-dos. It is something fun, and easy that everyone will love… They last for a few days as long as you keep them zipped up in a ziploc bag or tacked into a tupperware. Once these cookies make their debut they will be family favorites, party favorites, classroom favorites, or in my case, office favorites from the first bite….

TGIF 🙂

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Favorite Things………… Chocolate Chip Cookies.

    • I need to construct a recipe to involve left over cookies ….. I’m thinking put them in a food processor and make them into crumbs for pie crust?? 🙂

Leave a Reply

