A Work in Progress: Dark Chocolate Morsel Oatmeal Cookies.

Don’t get me wrong, I could easily enjoy at least 5 of my dark chocolate oatmeal cookies in one sitting. That does not mean I am satisfied with them though. No matter how hard I try, I cannot seem to make these goodies the way my Mama made them for me growing up. It is our joke that every time I pull out the recipe I call her and yell at her for not disclosing a step or an ingredient. Needless to say, I never like to have anything totally perfect… but I also never quit till I get what I want.

So what exactly do I want? A cookie that looks like this.

 

Photo from dessertbuzz.com

This is a work of art courtesy of Levain Bakery in New York City. Weighing in at a hefty six ounces, why can’t my cookies be handsome hunks of chocolate like Levain’s are!!

I am determined to do whatever it takes, even if it kills my Kitchen Aid mixer and I have to use 10 pounds of butter, to out do Levain, out do my wildest expectations and come up with a gorgeous cookie that I have been dreaming of for years.

My cookies are great, but not great enough.

My favorite thing about them, and something that I refuse to change, is the decision to use dark chocolate. There is so much great chocolate out on the market right now, I am declaring it time to step away from Toll House. One of my favorite specialty brands is Taza Chocolate. Stone ground, organic, and seriously good, I love the way it feels as it melts in your mouth! If you are one of my Main Line readers, Gryphon Cafe in downtown Wayne is a proud vendor of this brand… I highly suggest you scoop up some before you make this recipe! Whichever bar you choose to go with, all you have to do is place it in a ziploc baggy and smash it up into morsels that you will end up folding into the batter.

Here are some of the culprits that I plan on investigating in this mission to better my best.

1. The amount of butter I use

2. The influence of cake flour (as it helps with rising)

3. The proportions of baking soda and powder

4. The amount and type of oats used

5. How long I refrigerate them

 

Daring to be Delicious Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Print and Preheat the Oven!

This recipe makes between 30-40 cookies

Take out the butter prior to starting. Preheat oven to 350

Prepare Baking Sheets with Parchment Paper

 

Ingredients

1 cup of butter (softened)

2 cups sugar

½ cup dark brown sugar

2 tablespoons Molasses

2 eggs

2 tablespoons + 1 teaspoon Milk

3 teaspoons Vanilla

2 cups sifted flour

½ cup Cake Flour

1 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Baking Soda

1 Tsp Salt

3 cups old fashioned oats

1½ bars of dark Chocolate (smashed)

Directions

With a hand mixer or in a Stand Mixer, Cream the butter and sugars together until fully combined. Make sure you continuously scrape the edges of bowl throughout the duration of the process.

Add to this mix: the molasses, Eggs (one at a time), Milk, and Vanilla.

Sift your flours together and stir in the powder, soda, and Salt. Combine these ingredients with the butter. Do not over mix.

To add in the oats and the smashed chocolate you will want to use a spatula and fold everything together!

Place the dough in the fridge for at least 20 minutes before placing your scoops in the parchment covered baking sheets.

 

In a 350-degree oven these cookies should bake for 10 – 13 minutes. You may want to rotate the baking sheets around depending on how you see the cookies becoming golden.

I encourage you to give these a try and COMMENT! Let me know what your experience was with them … Also, keep checking back for updates on my adventures with this recipe. My frustrations might be your entertainment 🙂

One thought on “A Work in Progress: Dark Chocolate Morsel Oatmeal Cookies.

  1. Pingback: The Week in Review. « From Graduate to Gourmet

Leave a Reply

