If I had the time for Cinco de Mayo this year…

I would have made….

Guacamole.

(My recipe)

Black Bean Soup.

(One of the best recipes from Epicurious)

Yellow Rice 

(Recipe c/o Emeril)

Homemade Torillas

(Amazing step by step photo instructions from Food Network)

Mexican Skirt Steak

(One of the only Alton Brown recipes I would ever consider) .. adding sauteed veggies into the mix as well.

Arroz Con Pollo

(I love a thoroughly reviewed recipe and this one has tons of great comments!)

and of course let’s not forget….

Mojitos.

(I love mine with Vodka, so here is Giada’s recipe to inspire you)
________________

A menu worthy of over indulgence? Absolutely. But isn’t that what Cinco de Mayo is all about.

I love all foods Spanish, Mexican, Cuban, Puerto Rican … Pick a Spanish speaking country and it is a guaranteed knock out of the park for this girl. Little known fact about me, I would do pretty much anything to learn how to speak the language fluently; unfortunately anything with Spanish speaking heritage is one of the only things my genetic make-up does not represent. A girl can dream….

So tonight, instead of enjoying this Cinco de Mayo fiesta, I found myself in my final Main Line School Night class. It was a class on writing for blogs, (shout out to all my awesome classmates) and although I would have much rather been enjoying my carefully thought out dinner, or hell endless plates at Distrito would have hit the spot, class was refreshing. These last 8 weeks have introduced me to an awesome think tank of ideas, and a bunch of really wonderful people.

Seis de Mayo, anyone? This dinner is too good to put off for a whole year!

image from foodnetwork.com

Leave a Reply

