The Prettiest Saturday Afternoon Sandwiches… almost ever.

Saturdays are my Fridays. The end of my work week. The nights I go home and curl up on my big white couch, light a few candles, click on a quiet Pandora station, and just be. Truly relaxing, letting go of the week, and doing absolutely nothing but what I want to do is how I love to start my weekend.

Tonight, was no different. I wanted to go home and see this face…

So I did. We snuggled, until he felt like going back under the bed with his chicky. Then we walked… well he walked me. So excited that we were back in our routine .. he was practically skipping – and that made me so happy.

But there was something else that made this Saturday, which didn’t start so well, a happy one.

It was Sandwich Saturday! Courtney and I were at Whole Foods and I was inspired, and starving. It is the perfect  place to piece together all the necessities for a few tasty sammiches.

I started by choosing the bread. Each sandwich would be unique.

1. The Wheat Panino – an Italian pressed sandwich with pesto.

2. The Multigrain Ciabatta – a classic turkey, mustard, pickle and swiss sandwich.

3. The Olive Load – the Doggie Bag White Dog Wayne sandwich (!!)

4. The Ezekiel Sesame Bread – a Mediterranean sandwich with hummus.

 

Along with the bread I bought a 1/2 pound of Fresh Field’s Hickory Smoked Turkey.

A 1/2 pound of their baby swiss.

A package of Le Grand Nuts and Cheese Pesto (omg).

A jar of Organic Bread and Butter pickles.

2 of the most beautiful heirloom tomatoes. A bunch of basil. And a ripe avocado.

The first sandwich is inspired by something I make for one of my favorite customers at work at least twice a week. He started out just ordering a turkey sandwich with mayo, lettuce and tomato – and then I threw a spin on it for him.

Aly’s Special Turkey Sandwich

Turkey. Swiss. Lettuce. Basil. Mustard. Pickle.

Not just any mustard – but whole grain mustard & coarse dijon.

A few leaves of fresh basil, chopped romaine, atop the turkey and swiss cheese .. and don’t forget the sweet bread and butter pickles. One of my many vices – I could eat a whole jar.

Realistically that is probably the only sandwich I could eat every day if someone required that of me – It is one of the most complete salty and sweet combinations there is! And the hickory smoked turkey – I mean hellllo heaven.

The next sandwich, The Mediterranean with Hummus on Sesame Toast.

Hummus. Turkey. Heirloom Tomato. Arugula. Olive Oil.

Since hummus is made with tahini (sesame paste) it is only right to make this sandwich on sesame toast.

I had leftover hummus from Aunt Tita. She adds atop every batch paprika and cumin. Don’t be stingy with the hummus, like seriously pile it on! (This is Court’s suggestion and she’s correct).

Add two slices of turkey, and two slices of tomato.

Top with a heaping handful of baby arugula and a drizzle of EVOO.

Smush the sandwich together, and cut on the diagonal to see the pretty colors come together.

Sandwich #3 – The Italian Press with Pesto.

Nut Pesto. Shaved Parmigiano. 1 slice of Turkey. Tomato. Avocado. Basil.

Start by putting a generous slathering of pesto on your bread as you heat up a grill pan or a panini press.

Then shave your cheese, either with the blade of a knife, or with a cheese grater.

Sprinkle it on one side of the bread. Top with tomato slices, a little bit of avocado (which adds an unbelievable creamyness), a lot of fresh basil, and if you want a slice of turkey as well.

Then place it on the hot press or pan.

And for those of you that don’t have a panini press like me, you make do! Get your handy dandy saucepan lid and get to work pressing – just don’t burn yourself because it can get hot.

And for the final sandwich, there is a little story.

On Friday night, Court and I had a wonderful meal at White Dog in Wayne.

1st Course: Kennett Square Mushroom Soup and Strawberry Goat Cheese and Arugula Salad

2nd Course: Vegetable Antipasti – yellow&red beets, peppers, cucumbers, tomato, pickled eggplant

Entree: Strip Steak with Goat Cheese Mash, and a Lima bean succotash with ham and corn, and a peppercorn demi glace

Dessert: The White Dog S’More with Dogfish 60 Minute Marshmallows.

I had all good intentions of posting photographs of the meal, but the lighting was hideous. Instead I give you.. 

Sandwich #4 – The White Dog Wayne Doggie Bag Sandwich

God knows these two hungry girls could have tried to finish every plate – but instead we got to bring home a taste of each course in eco chic yet not so practical doggie bags. White Doggie has room to improve there.

We had quite a bit of strip steak left …

But not as many veggies from the antipasti. There was still no issue throwing something together –

How beautiful are these? You can only imagine how wowed we were when the actual plate arrived between us. 

Before starting this sandwich, warm or toast the bread.

I brushed a little bit of Tita’s baba ganoush (roasted eggplant with tahini for those readers that are unfamiliar) onto the olive loaf. Thanks to a WF customer, I picked that little guy out of the bin. She said it is her favorite bread- and she has it dipped in olive oil every morning for breakfast – thank you if you’re reading! 

Sprinkle with goat cheese crumbles and then top with the thinly sliced steak. 

On the other side of the loaf, place arugula with some balsamic vinegar.

The prettiest veggies in town!

Once all of the sandwiches were together, Courtney and I had to wrap our heads around which bite to take first. We set the table, I had a glass of lemonade, and she put out sea salt and vinegar baked kettle chips for us to munch on. It was the first time I ever saw baked kettle chips at Whole Foods and they are definitely awesome! Much less greasy which I’m always down for…

And now it’s just time to enjoy these beauties in all their glory. 

Each one was unique and practically perfect. The Special Turkey was exactly what it should be, a turkey sandwich with a kick.. The Italian Press was creamy with the avocado and cheese, nutty, with a so simple crisp to it.. The Mediterranean was probably my favorite – the hummus and turkey combo, so amazing … and then the White Doggie Bag completed it all with that tangy pickled eggplant, peppery strip that still had the perfect pop of bacon from the lingering succotash, all accented by the olive bread. 

Since my Dad owns a business not too far from my apartment, I decided to share the wealth .. I packed him the Italian Press and some sea salt and vinegar chips – a late lunch.

I think Sandwich Saturday could really catch on…

What do you guys think?!

3 thoughts on “The Prettiest Saturday Afternoon Sandwiches… almost ever.

  1. Wow! You know me and deli stuff…but the sandwiches were a work of art. BUT nothing was more fetching than that darn puppy!!! Xoxox

  2. Yum! My mom just gave me a panini press for my grill pan that I’ve been using all the time. Love all the ideas you just gave me! And I’m so intrigued by the nut pesto in that little squeeze pack- where did it come from?!

  3. Pingback: My 10 Favorite Recipes of 2011 « From Graduate to Gourmet

Leave a Reply

