Sweets for Strength.

Every day I wear an orange band around my right wrist (write that 6 times) in support of one of my favorite causes, Strength.org and No Kid Hungry. It reminds me not only to be thankful every day, but also to just simply stay aware. It is easy for most of us to understand how many children and young adults in some of the poorest parts of the world struggle to find food everyday … But we don’t always remember how difficult it is for children in our own towns, and maybe even those that live on our same street are also faced with that daily challenge.

1 in 5 children in America wakes up each day without access to a meal. 

That scares the hell out of me every time I write it or say it aloud. 

But, it is the pledge of Strength.org that by 2015 these children will have access to programs and options so that they will no longer have that worry. 

This Saturday I am raising money to contribute to this possibility by hosting a bake sale full of my homemade sweets. 

The Bake Sale will feature:

Handmade Cinnamon Buns with Cream Cheese icing

Freshly baked goldfish crackers 

Muffins 

Pumpkin Loaves

Red Velvet Cake

Some of the best cookies you’ve ever tasted (promise)

Cupcakes 

Kettle Corn 

and… ala the heavy hitters in this world … Frosting Shots. 

I would love all of you to stop by and have a taste – but I know that isn’t always possible. 

That being said, if any of these goods makes your mouth water so much that you can’t think straight – 

shoot me an email gradtogourmet AT gmail DOT com. 

Snail mail never hurt a cookie… 

🙂

For more information about the cause please visit STRENGTH.ORG 

and for more information about the sale –

email me. 

or check out the event on facebook

8 thoughts on “Sweets for Strength.

  1. I’ll be there Aly and am grateful that you’re getting the word out! See you Saturday! The goodies sound delish, Xoxo

  2. Aly, I stopped by and picked up some goldfish crackers, cheese-its, cookies, and an amazing cupcake. 🙂 You’re quite the baker!! The cheese-its and cupcake didnt even make it home! The cookies and fishies are on the table for later.

    Anyways, thanks for your efforts on a good cause… and for the delicious baked goods.

    After I started eating the cupcake I thought to myself “awwww forgot the frosting shot.” Haha.

    Enjoy your evening!
    ~Jake

    • Jake … I am so happy that you enjoyed everything that you bought! That makes me so happy. I didn’t end up putting out the frosting shots but if you had asked I had them tucked away. Next time I will make sure that you get a taste of one! Thank you for your coming out yesterday – and for leaving this comment!!

      • Well it was all totally delicious. I made it to the cookies this morning…. they were fantastic!

        Incidentally, the sign with the triangles was very cute.

        You did a great job!

        And of course, I always love the blog.

        ~J

      • check the blog this week for the cheese-it story… it has to do with me taking care of a lot of kids, and being tempted by a lot of pantries haha … and those cookies are still not even perfected believe it or not. I have been trying for 6 months to design the perfect recipe and I haven’t quite discovered the way yet. But as they are I get quite addicted to them. If only you could’ve tried the cookie dough! yum 🙂

Leave a Reply

