Cinnamon Hot Cocoa & Homemade Gingerbread Marshmallows

To a girl that carries around the deer park gallon jug of water every day – and never drinks anything but water, every day, and every night – starting my day with a big mug of cinnamon hot cocoa was like a huge deal. I think my heart actually skipped a beat with the first sip. So, excluding the occasional hot chai, or decaf iced coffee or tea, I have been off the drink wagon for almost 3 years. No soda, no sugary drinks at all, no coffee, no caffeine ever, no nada. It stops being boring after year one – or I wouldn’t have made it this long. 😉

The cause for this morning’s indulgence? Homemade gingerbread marshmallows.

The effect? Melty ooey goey gingerbread marshmallows floating on top of the freshly whipped cream in my beautiful mug of cinnamon hot cocoa.

Making your own marshmallows is about 20 minutes of prep time and 10 painful hours of waiting time. How yummy does that hot mess in my stand mixer look? And it tastes even better… even though it sticks to your hands, and your face, and anything it touches.

click, print.

The only thing that is really a necessity when it comes to this recipe, or to making any kind of confection is a candy thermometer. Running about $10-20 it is really a good investment. Sugar has to be a certain temperature to properly come together – so don’t try to make this recipe without the right equipment.

I decided to cut my mallows into small squares – knowing that I wanted to use them in cocoa (and on something else delish that I will share later) .. but pick any size you’d like. You have to butter your knife really well – or you really will be in a sticky situation.

Look at the little pillows! If you’ve never had a homemade marshmallow before then you are in for a real treat.

And they are even better all melted into a mug of hot chocolate. 

click, print!

When your in a pinch, a packet of the instant stuff is always easiest, but for a sunshiney December morning like this one – if you have the time, treat yourself. I enjoyed every last drop..

I also had some whipping cream in the fridge so took my hand mixer to about a 1/2 cup with some vanilla and confectioners sugar and it made for an extra creamy mug of cocoa. If you don’t like whipped cream, just try adding a few tablespoons of half and half to your cocoa and it will do the same trick. 

The hotter the cocoa, and the longer it sits, the more the flavor of the marshmallows will combine with the cinnamon in the cocoa. It is such a treat tasting all the spices with each sip. 

Have a cozy weekend darlings!

4 thoughts on “Cinnamon Hot Cocoa & Homemade Gingerbread Marshmallows

  1. Aly- this looks unreal!!! I will be most definitely be making this on Christmas Eve : ) Keep up the fabulous work! xoxoxoxo Jules

  2. I did my own recipe for peppermint hot cocoa mix this year as christmas gifts. We’ll see how it goes over. Would love to try yours too, though… when I recover from my cocoa making overload 😉

    • I love handmade food gifts! That’s great 🙂 I would love to see you post about it – and next time, definitely add your own homemade marshmallows. Your little one will love them!

Leave a Reply

